WITH POET IULIA

musvåge_falsterbo_20051013__MG_1948
An Interview with Poet IULIA GHERGHEI.

[“Poet of The Year 2013” on the British site Destiny Poets; Iulia Gherghei, a poet from Romania; already has two e-books to her credit. The writer of ‘POSTCARD WITH INSOMNIA’ and ‘PRISONERS OF CINEMA PARADISO’ lives in BUCHAREST.]

 Why does poetry moves you more than other forms of literature?

IULIA GHERGHEI: My relation with Poetry has many aspects. One aspect would be hereditary, my father is a poet too and my mother was a ballet dancer. So, you see, I have in my genes the crave for word and rhythm. Primarily, I am a prose reader, Poetry, in the dictatorship time when I grew up, became a form of survival, the only way to express ciphered code the frustrations, That is the social role that Poetry played for me in my teenage years. In other words, I breath in prose and exhale poetry. In time, it became an addiction, a structure throughout I perceive the universe.
  Do you think that poetry plays a central role in literature?

IULIA GHERGHEI: Yes, I do! Poetry indeed, plays a central role in literature. Statistic, most prose writers were poets first. Furthermore, Poetry hides behind any art form not only literature!
 Do you think that poetry primarily bridges the human world with the Mother Nature?

IULIA GHERGHEI: In my humble vision, poetry is the means/ tool through which we translate the messages we receive from Mother Nature, our own nature, in fact.
Now if we try to understand tradition and modernism, do you think poetry
can play a pivotal role relating the two? If so, how?

IULIA GHERGHEI: Yes, I do. Poetry has a good relation both with the classic current and the modernist one too. Any form of classic poetry was at one moment a form of avangarde poetry.
 What are your opinions about the role of the poet in bridging the gap, if any, between tradition and modernism?

IULIA GHERGHEI: The poet is the locomotive in his journey between tradition and modernism. The poet has the freshest eye, the new perspective reveals to him only.
  Do you think that society is the key factor in shaping you up as a poet,
or is your poetry an internal phenomenon?

IULIA GHERGHEI: My poetry is a combination of factors, both external and internal. I do my best to keep the balance straight.
What about Rumania? What is the influence of your country & your culture in your writing?

IULIA GHERGHEI: Romania has a major influence over my writings. I am its product. Here, we say, that every Romanian is a poet.

How difficult is it to write in a foreign language? Do you also write in your mother tongue? What are the essential differences?

IULIA GHERGHEI: It was difficult at first but with practice it became quite a pleasure to write in a foreign language, besides, my poetry is about message, transcending somehow the language.
 Coming back to the present time, does politics in general influence you in your writings? If so, why and how?

IULIA GHERGHEI: I try to keep myself out of politics, but the social phenomena reverberating from politics do influence both my life and my writings, heavily, I might even say!
 Are you a feminist? Can poetry play any decisive role in feminism at all?

IULIA GHERGHEI: I am a moderate feminist. And, yes poetry can play an important role in obtaining our rightful place on this planet.
 What are your aspirations about the future of poetry?

IULIA GHERGHEI: As I said before, for me, poetry is like breathing. So as long as I keep breathing, my poetry will have a future.
Anything particular about yourself that you want to share with your audience?

IULIA GHERGHEI: Thank all my friends for their patience and generosity with my writings. I highly appreciate their comments. Besides poetry, I am an avid consumer of televised tennis and snooker matches, a fan Roger Federer and Mark Selby.

Leave a Reply

